May 242015

EVERTON’S desperately poor season came to a suitably dismal end as they slumped to a home defeat by Spurs.

The Blues lost for the 15th time in the Premier League this term as Harry Kane’s first-half header was enough for the visitors to claim the points.

Roberto Martinez’s side were hugely disappointing throughout most of this game and missed the opportunity to send their beleaguered supporters home for the summer with at least a little cheer.

The Goodison faithful did, however, reserve a special round of applause for Sylvain Distin who replaced Brendan Galloway with just under 10 minutes left.

Distin, who is out of contract and set to leave the club, was given a standing ovation as he came on.

Sylvain Distin salutes the crowd as he prepares to make his final appearance. Sylvain Distin salutes the crowd as he prepares to make his final appearance.

However, there would be no late goal to mark the French defender’s final appearance as Spurs dealt with Everton’s pressure in the closing stages.

Defeat means the Blues finish 11th in the table after Crystal Palace’s win over Swansea saw them leapfrog Everton and West Ham.

Martinez’s side, who finished fifth last term, end this season 25 points off last season’s club record Premier League tally of 72.

Luke Garbutt, meanwhile, was not named in the matchday squad, increasing the belief that he will not sign a new deal with the Blues and leave this summer.

EVERTON (4-2-3-1): Howard, Coleman, Stones, Jagielka, Galloway (Distin , McCarthy, Barry, Mirallas (Naismith 73), Barkley (Besic 46), Osman, Lukaku. Subs: Robles, Kone, McGeady.

Booked: Jagielka

Football stories brought to you every minute of every day. For more stories like this subscribe to the RSS feed. If you just want to follow comments and the shoutbox (thats it over in the right hand column) then there is a comments RSS feed too.

Click here to get a special offer on Everton DVDs and Blueray.

 Posted by at 4:05 pm

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>